Tag Archives: Shakti Gauchan

Nepal is the Champion of ICC World Cricket League Division 4

Nepal became the champion of the World Cricket League Division 4, its biggest success so far, beating USA in the final by 8 wickets at Kinrara Academy, Malaysia.

Nepal displayed a most convincing batting performance to back up the brilliant bowling performance to chase USA’s 145 within 28 overs with 8 wickets intact.

Gyanendra Malla scored 66 off 65 balls; Subash Khakurel netted 40 not out and captain Paras Khadka 25 not out to finish off the match with 22 overs remaining. Only Anil Mandal, who scored century yesterday, got out early in 3 runs.

However, it was the performance of bowler led by Basant Regmi that ensured Nepal’s easy victory. Basant took the second 5-for in the tournament to finish with 21 wickets in six matches of the tournament – a phenomenal achievement, to bowl out USA for 145 in 48.1 overs.

USA, which lost to Nepal by 32 runs in the league match, were lot less competitive as their strategies was foiled by Nepali bowlers. They opened with Amit Mishra, considered one of the best players of spin, and S Taylor. Taylor (11) was undone by Sanjam Regmi in fifth over while Binod Das found edge of A Rajp’s bat in next over to make it 17 for 2 in 6 overs.

Mishra and Sushil Nadkarni held the innings together scoring slowly to build the foundation but full points to Nepali bowlers who claimed wickets exactly when the partnership looked like threatening.

Mishra became first victim of Basant Regmi caught by Pradeep Airee. Captain Steve Massiah got out off a worthless shot – wicket to Paras.

Nadkarni was next to go and Shakti Gauchan claimed the prize wicket caught by Amrit Bhattarai. Timroy Allen and others followed and valiant knock by Orlando Baker (39 off 75 balls) was only thing in later part of the innings for USA to cheer about.

Basant finished with 5 for 20. Shakti Gauchan claimed 2 for 23.

Brief score: Nepal 147/2 in 28 overs (Gyanendra 66, Subash 40*, Paras 25*) beat USA 145 all out in 46.1 overs (Nadkarni 39, Baker 39, Mishra 28, Basant 5/20, Shakti 2/23, Binod 1/21, Paras 1/21, Sanjam 1/42) by 8 wickets. MoM: Basant Regmi